Meet our Team

Pastoral Team & Tutors

Our pastoral system is very important to us.  As a Chailey family your first contact for welfare issues should be your child's tutor.

YEAR 7 TEAM    
Head Of Year Mr David Atherall datherall@chaileyschool.org
Student Support Manager Mrs Julia Downs jdowns@chaileyschool.org
YEAR 7 TUTORS 2023/2024    
Ashdown Mr Luke Burgess lburgess@chaileyschool.org
Caburn Mrs Anne Burley aburley@chaileyschool.org
Ditchling Dr Gareth Lynn glynn@chaileyschool.org
Firle Mr Nathan Robinson nrobinson@chaileyschool.org
Glynde Ms Beth Martin bmartin@chaileyschool.org
Weald Ms Maria Khan mkhan@chaileyschool.org

 

YEAR 8 TEAM    
Head of Year Mr Andrew Harris aharris@chaileyschool.org
Student Support Manager Miss Ellie Martin emartin@chaileyschool.org
YEAR 8 TUTORS 2023/2024    
Ashdown Ms Phoebe Watkins pwatkins@chaileyschool.org
Caburn Mr Josh Cullen jcullen@chaileyschool.org
Ditchling Mr Matt Ward mward@chaileyschool.org
Firle Ms Rubi Batton rbatton@chaileyschool.org
Glynde Mr John Adams joadams@chaileyschool.org
Weald Miss Lucy Robinson lurobinson@chaileyschool.org

 

Year 9 TEAM    
Head of Year              Mr Jack Trott jtrott@chaileyschool.org
Student Support Manager Mrs Liz Gill lgill@chaileyschool.org
YEAR 9 TUTORS 2023/2024    
Ashdown

Miss Mel Wood

Mrs Tracy Thust

mwood@chaileyschool.org

tthust@chaileyschool.org

Caburn Ms Emily Akehurst eakehurst@chaileyschool.org
Ditchling

Ms Katie Burke

Mr Andrew Baxter

kburke@chaileyschool.org

abaxter@chaileyschool.org

Firle Ms Elizabeth Fenn efenn@chaileyschool.org
Glynde Ms Jenny Maynard jmaynard@chialeyschool.org
Weald

Ms Sharon Rowe

Mr Andy Tyrell

srowe@chaileyschool.org

atyrell@chaileyschool.org

 

YEAR 10 TEAM    
Head of Year Miss Abi Key akey@chaileyschool.org
Student Support Manager Mrs Nancy Feltham nfeltham@chaileyschool.org
YEAR 10 TUTORS 2023/2024    
Ashdown

Ms Jane Searle

Mr Noah Rutter

jsearle@chaileyschool.org

nrutter@chaileyschool.org

Caburn Mr James Deacon jdeacon@chaileyschool.org
Ditchling Mr Charles Thomas cthomas@chaileyschool.org
Firle Mr Dan Hillier dhillier@chaileyschool.org
Glynde Ms Sarah Wild swild@chaileyschool.org
Weald

Ms Gypsy Harfleet

Mrs Sam Keddie

gharfleet@chaileyschool.org

skeddie@chaileyschool.org

 

YEAR 11 TEAM    
Head of Year Mrs Kerry Cain kcain@chaileyschool.org
Student Support Manager Mrs Nancy Feltham nfeltham@chaileyschool.org
YEAR 11 TUTORS 2023/2024    
Ashdown

Ms Elizabeth Bennett

Mr Dan Hallam

ebennett@chaileyschool.org

dhallam@chaileyschool.org

Caburn Ms Sandrine Milland smilland@chaileyschool.org
Ditchling

Ms Sophie Goddard

Mr Ian Hopwood

sgoddard@chaileyschool.org

ihopwood@chaileyschool.org

Firle Ms Fiona Morrow fmorrow@chaileyschool.org
Glynde

Miss Louise Lang

Mr David Hill

llang@chaileyschool.org

dhill@chaileyschool.org

Weald

Ms Jo Lowe

Mrs Tracy Thust

jlowe@chaileyschool.org

tthust@chaileyschool.org

Safeguarding Team

If you need to make contact regarding a Safeguarding matter in school, please contact dsl's@chaileyschool.org

Designated Safeguarding Lead Miss Louise Thompson
Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead Mr Ben Austin
Safeguarding Administrator Mrs Julie Awcock

Faculty Leaders

Science Mr Luke Burgess lburgess@chaileyschool.org
Arts & Technology Mr James Deacon jdeacon@chaileyschool.org
English Ms Elizabeth Fenn efenn@chaileyschool.org
Mathematics & Computing Mr Ian Hopwood ihopwood@chaileyschool.org
PE & PSHE Ms Jenny Maynard jmaynard@chaileyschool.org
Humanities Mrs Catherine Michica De Oliveira cmichica@chaileyschool.org
Modern Foreign Languages Ms Fiona Morrow fmorrow@chaileyschool.org

Teaching Staff

English

 
David Atherall datherall@chaileyschool.org
Elizabeth Bennett ebennett@chaileyschool.org
Katie Burke kburke@chaileyschool.org
Elizabeth Fenn  efenn@chaileyschool.org
Vicky Hopkinson vhopkinson@chaileyschool.org
Ruth Turner rturner@chaileyschool.org
Phoebe Watkins pwatkins@chaileyschool.org
Sarah Wild swild@chaileyschool.org

Maths

 
Emily Akehurst eakehurst@chaileyschool.org
David Hill dhill@chaileyschool.org
Ian Hopwood ihopwood@chaileyschool.org
Maria Khan mkhan@chaileyschool.org
Louise Lang llang@chaileyschool.org
Jack Trott jtrott@chaileyschool.org
Tjadine Ullman tullmann-carp@chaileyschool.org

Science

 
John Adams jadams@chaileyschool.org
Luke Burgess  lburgess@chaileyschool.org
Sophie Goddard sgoddard@chaileyschool.org
Jo Lowe jlowe@chaileyschool.org
Beth Martin bmartin@chaileyschool.org
Charles Thomas cthomas@chaileyschool.org
Tracy Thust tthust@chaileyschool.org

Humanities

 
Ann Burley aburley@chaileyschool.org
Tim Dudgeon tdudgeon@chaileyschool.org
Josh Cullen jcullen@chaileyschool.org
Andrew Harris aharris@chaileyschool.org
Sam Keddie skeddie@chaileyschool.org
Catherine Michica de Oliveira cmichica@chaileyschool.org
Lucy Robinson lurobinson@chaileyschool.org

MFL

 
Gypsy Harfleet gharfleet@chaileyschool.org
Gareth Lynn glynn@chaileyschool.org
Sandrine Milland  smilland@chaileyschool.org
Fiona Morrow   fmorrow@chaileyschool.org
Nathan Robinson nrobinson@chaileyschool.org

PE

 
Ben Austin baustin@chaileyschool.org
Ruby Batton rbatton@chaileyschool.org
Kerry Cain  kcain@chaileyschool.org
Abi Key akey@chaileyschool.org
Jennifer Maynard   jmaynard@chaileyschool.org

DT

 
James Deacon  jdeacon@chaileyschool.org
Dan Hallan dhallam@chaileyschool.org

Art

 
Natalie Katona nkatona@chaileyschool.org
Mel Wood mwood@chaileyschool.org

Drama

 
Noah Rutter nrutter@chaileyschool.org

Music

 
Andrew Baxter abaxter@chaileyschool.org

Computing

 
Sharon Rowe  srowe@chaileyschool.org
Andrew Tyrrell atyrrell@chaileyschool.org

Food & Nutrition

 
Dan Hillier dhillier@chaileyschool.org
Jane Searle  jsearle@chaileyschool.org